Back to All Events

Paradise Garden - Classical Sunday

  • Flathead High School Performance Hall 644 4th Avenue West Kalispell, MT, 59901 United States (map)

Dates, Times and Locations:
Sunday, November 18, 2018 3:00 pm at Flathead High School Performance Hall

Concert Information:
Glacier Symphony
John Zoltek, conductor
Marcin Dylla, classical guitar

Our Classical Sundays November concert features three outstanding musical pieces by three different composers inspired by Shakespeare’s tragic love story, “Romeo and Juliet”. The Walk to the Paradise Garden is an evocative intermezzo from English composer Fredrick Delius’ opera “A Village Romeo and Juliet” composed in 1907. The hauntingly beautiful piece evokes a calm rural setting in naïve musical expression that build to more dramatic moments foretelling the tragedy that is to follow.  Russian composer Prokofiev’s famous Romeo and Juliet ballet composed in 1935 is the neo-classical composer’s early 20th century setting of the famous story. Prokofiev’s signature style of rapid key changes, rather icy melodies and refined orchestral writing runs throughout the piece. We offer a number of excerpts from the ballet on this program including the well-known palpably emphatic Montegues and Capulets movement. The concert concludes with the ultimate standard bearer of all “Romeo and Juliet” inspired pieces, Tchaikovsky’s popular and exciting Romeo and Juliet Fantasy Overture. Composed in a number of versions between 1870-80 the Fantasy Overture is a supreme example of Tchaikovsky’s Romantically dramatic style. He musically captures the tenderness and tragedy of the tale in a concise and dramatic one movement programmatic overture form. It remains one of Tchaikovsky’s most frequently performed orchestral pieces and includes the beloved soaring love theme that is drastically countered by the more intensely violent musical action.  The orchestral writing was quite original and very effective in conveying the emotional intensity of both the inner and outer psychological expression worlds of the piece.  It is one of the most exciting single movement works in the repertoire. It’s powerfully dark and tragic ending is perhaps only rivaled by the final climax of Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6, the “Pathetique”.  

Our soloist Marcin Dylla will be center stage for the Concierto del sur for guitar and orchestra by Mexican composer Manuel Ponce. This piece was originally composed for master guitarist Andres Segovia, who gave its premiere in 1941. It is a charming and sunny work composed in traditional three movement solo concerto form and written for a reduced orchestra of 4 solo winds, strings and timpani. The first movement immediately draws on in to an exotic sound world and contains an extensive dramatic solo guitar cadenza. For the entire concerto the composer utilizes folk idioms from Mexican and Spanish traditions. The result a clear and light upbeat work that is an absolute gem and appropriate platform for the solo guitar. The orchestral writing seems always to be in service of the solo line frequently reflecting melodic motives in conversation with the soloist and providing a veiled tapestry of floating sound upon which the guitar seems to dance and sing. The piece ends with a buoyant dance movement in quick 3 beat time. This delightful well composed but somewhat neglected work is gradually earning a more prominent place of recognition amongst classical guitar enthusiasts, performers and audiences alike. We are pleased to offer this piece to you featuring acclaimed soloist Marcin Dylla, who is a an advocate and supreme interpreter of this work.

Hailed by Washington Post as "among the most gifted guitarists on the planet". Polish guitarist, Marcin Dylla is a rare phenomenon in the recent history of Classical Guitar. Many music critics, connoisseurs, and music lovers certify that Marcin Dylla is among the world's elite of classical guitar players. He has earned this position, among others, on the 1960s. His last triumph was the Gold Medal of the '2007 Guitar Foundation of America International Competition' in Los Angeles known as the prestigious guitarist competition in the cities of North America, Mexico and Canada during 2008-09 season.

“Dylla ranks among the most gifted guitarists on the planet..” –Washington Post

Delius: Walk to Paradise Garden
Ponce: Concierto del sur for guitar & orchestra
Prokofiev: Romeo and Juliet Suite No. 2
Tchaikovsky: Romeo and Juliet Fantasy Overture

Earlier Event: October 28
Nosferatu – A Symphony of Horrors
Later Event: December 15
This Sacred Season and “Messiah”